Tags

Recently I did a photo shoot at an elementary school.

The assignment was to create a photo library of images for general use focussing on the students and teachers.

I have shot for the same client three times in the past, each time using a different lighting technique.

This time I decided to use my lit reportage style.

This is where I have two assistants follow me in real time lighting the shot with two different light sources lighting the subjects as I move.

You have to work with really good assistants to be able to anticipate where you will move next and have a good understanding as to where to place the lights in real time.

This was a great way to shoot this assignment because I could move at the same pace as the kids capturing real moments as they happened.

What was necessary on my end was to let go of micro managing the lighting and allowing the assistants to light the scene as I moved with the kids. I just had to anticipate the moments in reportage style.

The client really benefits from this by getting a huge volume of shots to work with, as well as authentic moments they wouldn’t get in setup shots, but with higher production values, because they are still lit shots.

Here are some examples from the shot.

